About Hume

CLICK ON MAP FOR LARGER IMAGE   The Division of Hume has been a part of Australian democracy since Federation in 1901. Named after the early explorer Hamilton Hume, Hume is both a rural and provincial electorate covering an area of approximately 17 240 sq km.

Hume includes the entire Councils of Boorowa, Goulburn Mulwaree and Upper Lachlan and parts of Camden Council, Liverpool City Council, Wingecarribee Shire Council and Wollondilly Shire Council. Towns include Appin, Boorowa, Bundanoon, Camden Park, Colo Vale, Crookwell, Exeter, Goulburn, Gunning, Hill Top, Marulan, Menangle, Meryla, Oak Dale, Penrose, Taralga, Werai (part), Wingello (part) and Yerrinbool (part).

Hume is notable for its diverse range of industries: mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. Furthermore, the area is well-known for its fine wool, with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Belgenny Farm, former home of John and Elizabeth Macarthur, the Macarthur Campus of the Western Sydney University, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located within the Hume electorate.

For a list of towns in the electorate and a map of Hume visit the Australian Electoral Commission website.