$28 million funding boost to flood-affected councils declared as disaster areas

Wednesday, 09 March 2022

Grants of $1 million have been made to an additional 28 flood impacted councils, bringing the total amount of financial support provided to councils to $45 million.


Forty-five Local Government Areas (LGAs) across NSW have been declared as disaster areas and received support through the joint Australian Government-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Federal Member for Hume Angus Taylor welcomed the inclusion of this funding to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets.

“The $1 million grants to impacted councils will assist with their immediate needs.

“We are focused on delivering as much support as possible to impacted communities right now, but this financial support will particularly help the local councils in our region fix the damage caused by the floods to our road network, ” Mr Taylor said.

“The DRFA unlocks additional financial assistance measures in LGAs declared as disaster areas.

“I would encourage anyone in NSW impacted by these awful floods to please contact Service NSW and find out what assistance you are eligible for.”

The initial 17 councils to receive this support on 3 March 2022 included the Local Government Areas of Armidale, Ballina, Bellingen, Byron, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Glen Innes Severn, Hornsby, Kempsey, Kyogle, Lismore, Nambucca, Port Macquarie/Hastings, Richmond, Tenterfield, The Hills and Tweed.

On 5 March 2022 this was expanded to include another 28 councils: Bayside, Bega Valley, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Central Coast, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Inner West, Kiama, Ku-Ring-Gai, Liverpool City, MidCoast, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly, Wollongong.